Discuss the benefits and drawbacks of pet ownership for animals and for the community.

Moving towards the 21st century, many people are nowadays expressing a deeply growing concern about the role of pets in modern lifestyles. In fact, there are some who hold firmly to their belief that owning a pet brings several advantages to society. However, others argue convincingly that pets have impacts in negative ways. Therefore, some arguments both for and against this issue will be addressed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, there are two main points for people to defend the former argument. First of all, it is a well-documented fact that animals are usually well-treated by their owners. The most obvious example to prove is that they got food, water easier due to they do not have to hunt or scramble with other animals in wildlife. Some pets are also cleaned-up regularly and are getting additional treatment, such as check-up and grooming. Furthermore, there is no doubt that in modern life, increasing older people is a huge issue with the community, so animals, such as dogs can become good friends for them to share their feelings. Dogs trained to assist the blind, older people to help with basic tasks like crossing the street, answering the phone and collecting the mail.

On the other hand, there are two primary pieces of evidence for people to support the latter argument. First and foremost, it is commonly accepted that while people were playing with animals, they may transfer the diseases from their saliva and fur. A clear example to prove is that A recent survey shows that approximately 20 percentages of diseases are transmitted from pat animals to children in the US. Equally important, there is no denying that owning a pet is a big responsibility. This is supported by the fact that a movement space is limited so pets can feel illness as well as in wildlife. It requires much time spent, such as taking pets for regular walks to get exercise, making sure he gets fed on time, bathing him and playing with him.

All things are considered, it is my strong belief that the crucial role of pet animals in our activities. Accordingly, I strongly recommend the governments should enhance people’s awareness in terms of owning pets in our community. If this recommendation is carried out, the comprehensive development of our society will be secured.