Discuss the benefits and drawbacks of pet ownership for animals and for the community as a whole

Moving towards the 21st century, many people are nowadays expressing a deeply growing concern about pet ownership. In fact, there are some who hold firmly to their belief that it has positive impacts on the pets as well as society. However, others argue convincingly that the negative effects outweigh the positive side. Therefore, some arguments both for and against this issue will be addressed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, there are two main points for people to defend the former argument owning pets has plenty of advantages to the animals and the community. It is a well-documented fact that the pets are well-fed on their own. The obvious example to prove is that people provide a warm shelter, including sufficient food, water, toys, and special equipment to the pets. Furthermore, there is no doubt that having a pet reduces the number of crimes committed by a vulnerable mind and mental illness patients. It also helps the owners relieve their stress and build up a positive attitude.

Despite the fact that people gain the benefits of adopting pets, but there are two primary evidences for people to support the opposite arguments. First and foremost, it is commonly accepted that keeping animals is a cruel way of taking their freedom. Actually, the ways humans live are different from animals do, so they are not able to understand the pets' feelings which may cause mistreated and abusive behaviors. Moreover, there is no denying that pet owners have to deal with the high expense of raising dogs and cats. This is supported by the fact that the food, medical fees, and veterinary bills cost a huge sum of money, thus the household budget is definitely affected.

All things considered, it is my strong belief that having a pet brings more advantages to the owners and the society as well. Accordingly, I highly recommend the governments should enhance people's awareness in terms of raising dogs and cats. If this recommendation is carried out, the comprehensive development of our society will be ensured.