Discuss the role of the Internet in our activities

Moving towards the 21st century, many people are nowadays expressing a deeply growing concern about the role of the Internet in our modern life. In fact, there are some who hold firmly to their belief that the Internet has a great contribution to our lives. However, others argue convincingly that the Internet affects our lives in negative ways. Therefore, some arguments both for and against this issue will be addressed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, there are two main points for people to defend the former argument that using the Internet brings several advantages to our daily activities. The most obvious example to prove is that the Internet makes people closer than in the past. It is a well-documented fact that a Vietnamese student being abroad to study in the USA can easily keep in touch with his parents in Vietnam via chatting on the Internet or making video calls. Furthermore, there is no doubt that it gives us instant access to information on almost any subject. For instance, the research used to be a very hectic and time taking process. Now with a single click of a mouse, a researcher is able to draw dozens of conclusions.

On the other hand, there are two primary pieces of evidence for people to support the latter argument. First and foremost, it is commonly accepted that the excessive use of the Internet badly impacts the psychology and mind of individuals. A clear example to prove is that Internet addiction creates the problems of social isolation and disturbance in relations. The young people have no respect for society, social values, and elders in society. Equally important, there is no denying that the misuse of the Internet brings a number of problems health. This is supported by the fact that Internet addiction had forced us to stay on bed and do all things online. It has created severe complications with our health as well, like stress, uncertainty, lack of peace and other diseases.

All things are considered, it is my strong belief that the crucial of the Internet in our activities. Accordingly, I strongly recommend the governments should enhance people's awareness in terms of how to use the Internet effectively. If this recommendation is carried out, the comprehensive development of our future generation will be ensured.