Computers play a vital role in education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using computers in education

Moving towards the 21st century, many people are nowadays expressing a deeply growing concern about the role of computers in education. In fact, there are some who hold firmly to their belief that computers bring a number of benefits to high school and university education. However, others argue convincingly that the overuse of computers has negative impacts on the young generations in studying at high school and university levels. Therefore, some arguments both for and against this issue will be addressed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, there are two main points for people to defend the former argument that computers play a central role in teaching and learning at the university level. First of all, it is a well-documented fact that E-learning and external study are now considered to be the preferred choice of the majority of university students in developed countries. The most obvious example to prove is that they can learn the lesson from their home or anywhere by using the computer and the Internet to access the E-learning facilities. Furthermore, there is no doubt that computers definitely help disabled people to be able to get a higher education degree through long-distance studies. For instance, Information Technology (IT) is well-known to be important for current world, thus disabled students are allowed to study this major at the university level to secure a good job in their future career.

On the other hand, there are two primary pieces of evidence for people to support the latter argument. First and foremost, it is commonly accepted by the fact that students are too dependent on computers and the Internet for their studies, so the role of the teachers and lecturers might be affected due to the lack of face to face communication. A clear example to prove is that the preferred of the vast majority of students in developed countries is to study externally instead of on-campus study for learning their major, especially for the field of Social Sciences and Business. Equally important, there is no denying that computers are overused for not only studying but also for entertaining films, movies, and video games. The eyes and heart issues should be affected by watching and playing games for a long time period.

All things are considered, it is my strong belief that the advantages of using computers in education outweigh its disadvantages. Accordingly, I strongly recommend the governments should enhance people’s awareness in terms of minimizing the negative side of computers. If this recommendation is carried out, the comprehensive development of our future generations will be ensured.