Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is widely argued that the proliferation of supermarkets is on the rise, and many small business owners ought to shut down their shops because of the low revenue. Some believed that it leads to the threat of the death of local inhabitants. I totally disagree with this idea.

Clearly, local communities are expressed by not only local shops but also the number of cultural places such as public parks, museum, library and similar things. Those attractions, which possess traditional activities or historical artifacts, could provide a deep look on the culture and tendency of a specific place. Hence, the replacing of local bussiness does not threaten the local inhabitants. Besides, supermarkets may shift people’s shopping habbit. Because of the low and competitive cost of goods in supermarkets as well as a broad range of products, local people gravitate towards buying things in supermarkets. As a result, shoppers establish a healthy shopping habbit, which is changed from bargaining to purchasing for fixed-price products.

The rapid growth of supermarkets provide ample opportunities for local communities to bloom and blossom. Firstly, large and international bussinesses serve citiens more jobs. Because of the overpopulation, many countries have to bear the brunt that a plethora of people in working age is unemployed. Replacing small bussinesses by supermarkets is able to solve this burden by offering more working position. Secondly, integration and globalization can also be ensured. In terms of exporting and importing products, countries can enhance multinational relationship and vary the gerne of goods sold to local citizens.

In conclusion, although some people think that the dramatical growth of supermarkets may lead to the closure of small shops and local communities are going to death as a result, I believe that supermatkets foster the development of local inhabitants as well as bring some valuable merits.