Due to the influence of world-wide media such as television and computers, the gap between cultures is narrowing. The introduction of this “global culture” is of great benefit to the world. To what extent do you agree with this viewpoint?

Mass media has developed globally over decades and the distant among cultures is decreased. I personally believe media is a two sided sword and medium such as television, films and music and so on has several benefits to the world, however, it has some drawbacks too.

One advantage of global culture is getting acquainted with other cultures by watching movies or listening to their songs. Films such as “One thousand and one nights” are known to the world. It also introduces ancient history of eastern world or concisely to say Asian world. Similarly, music and language are mingled together and people get attracted to other cultures and want to know more about people living overseas. Take “Gangam Style” song for instance, it increased the fame of Korean culture and many people associate this song with hearing name of Korea. In addition, learning from other cultures through media affects tourism industry. Many become attracted in other countries and plan to visit it.

However, global culture does have disadvantages. The media is in hand of few people and the more wealthier a country or studio is, the more powerful it will be to exert their own belief and opinion. Consequently, the public doesn’t get a balanced and objective view of what is actually going on. Furthermore, the media wants to appeal the widest range of viewers and try to sustain everyone’s satisfaction. For instance, the movie “300” tried to show the baffle between Iran and Greek but in this movie the history was slanted, however it was widely acclaimed by critics and viewers.

At the end I must say that world-wide media can be good or bad, depending on personal consideration and the authority that is delivering cultural things.