University lecturers are now able to put their lectures on the internet for students to read and so the importance of attending face to face lectures has been reduced. Do you believe the use of the internet in formal education is a good idea? What future effects will the internet have on academic study?

Nowadays it has become common among lecturers to use technology and teach the students via internet. Consequently, there is no need for physical attendance in university. I consider this way far advantageous rather than traditional way it used to be.

A good reason for remote learning is being time saving. Going to university is a time consuming and tiresome routine while students can learn in their room via internet and students will use the saved time for doing the assignments or recreational activities. Furthermore, loads of materials, such as books, articles, films and so on, are shown which is not possible in the classroom. As a result lecturer and students have access to wider sources when they are in the class.

Concerning future of academic study, internet will take the control of everything and students see themselves needless to attend in university. Internet has built strong database for everything one needs to know whether you want a certificate or not. Thus, the need for a physical place to learn things will be eliminated, however, the big universities will stay to gather elites together.

In a nutshell, I agree with the idea of using technology and internet in education while it gives valuable source of information to students and they can learn virtually wherever they are. The future is more internet based rather than attending in a physical classroom environment.