Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many societies. To what extent would you say that television has positively or negatively affected the cultural development of your society?

The pervasive impact of television on society is undeniable. There are mixed views on whether it has positive or negative effects on the society and culture. I personally believe that positive effects outweighs the negative ones.

Television programs are a good way to learn other languages and get acquainted with other cultures around the world. For instance, Asians learn about American customs and traditions by watching Latin American movies. It also helps those who want to learn Spanish and Portuguese. Television programs promote cultures and lowers the expense of cultural exchange. Similarly, it brings people from different cultures and languages together and invites people to travel to the other parts of the globe.

On the negative side, countries with more wealth produce more programs and poor countries remain passive. Therefore, stronger countries assert their own culture to a broad range of people all over the world and there is no room for not developed countries to broadcast their culture or reflect their own problems in society. In addition, in countries with high religious norms, some western culture is considered obscene, such as showing betrayal, affectionate and sex themes.

All in all, I hold the view that television helps people from all around the world to get closer and make it easier to learn culture and their language but it also promotes cultural stuff. Needless to say that it strengthen wealthy, influential countries while it weakens the culture in weaker position.