Eco-tourism often involves visiting remote and fragile ecosystems, which raises concerns about the impact on local cultures and indigenous communities. What problems can this cause? How can these problems be resolved?

Eco tourism industries frequently offer a tour to remote and fragile ecosystems, which increases concerns about how it affects cultural preservation and local communities. The highly relevant issues bring a number of problems and solutions regarding this issue, which I will expound in the elucidate paragraph.

First and foremost, the impacts of ecotourism on the culture would be decreasing the authenticity of the heritage sites. This means that services will be established to accommodate tourists, where fresh and natural looks of such sites can be disrupted. For example, many ritual spots in Kintamani, Bali have lost their beauty and uniqueness. Furthermore, local people can strongly adapt tourists’ attitude and behaviour to provide hospitality, resulting in the loss of cultural identity. It is evident that indigenous youth in remote areas are most likely affected by hybrid cultures, the native and the western together, which include dress, dance and music.

By contrast, there is a notable solution for this issue, firstly, the head of local tribes must create acculturation strategies to retain unique language, food and customs. According to the Tourism Research Journal, this aims to bring harmony and increase cross cultural interaction. Moreover, another solution is to empower native inhabitants participating in sustainable tourism practices. This means that they have to manage tourism flow and avoid compromising the disruption of environment and cultural assets. Ni Luh Djelantik, an Indonesian cultural activist, eagerly advocates conflict resolution between the natives and tourists so as to maintain traditional values and beliefs of Balinese.

To sum up, how tourists visit local ethnic and natural environments carries out detrimental effects such as the disappearance of valuable cultural assets along with its future hereditary generation. Nevertheless, the plausible alternatives include the conduct of assimilation policies and the active involvement of indigenous community.