Recent research has shown that business meetings and training are increasingly taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In recent years, significant digital transformations have altered the way of business meeting and training sessions, driven by the escalating online platforms. I will consider how this view brings several notable advantages, which I will elucidate in the following paragraphs.

Regarding the merits, we must acknowledge that the telecommuting change through virtual meetings empowers organizations to achieve significant cost savings, positively impacting their company budgets, not to mention reducing their carbon footprint. Recently, the most applications for business purposes (Webex and ZoHo) not only secure sensitive information but also effectively navigate travel and accommodation expenditure to other essential aspects. Furthermore, designated importance of employee engagement is supported by the advent of web conferences. Published by Business News Daily, employees relish for this innovative flexibility in workspaces in terms of significant improvement in their work-life balance, productivity and healthier lifestyle.

By contrast, we must elucidate the various demerits of this issue that the hardships during such training conducts demand hands-on practice or physical presence. In healthcare sector, medical professionals require practical techniques (fluid injections and physical examinations). Consequently, the lack of interface adversely affects patients’ medical condition, especially those with critical urgencies. Moreover, technical glitches, including poor internet connectivity and cybersecurity, can disrupt the flow of remote meetings. For instance, the COVID-19 pandemic leads to straining the bandwidth capacities of Internet Service Providers (ISPs) globally, resulting in amount of time to fix bugs in delivering digital information such as Google.

In conclusion, while some may perceive potentially drawbacks to certain respects, I would argue that the advent of internet-based meeting and training section can be substantially significant. Those include enhancing cost-effectiveness as well assisting greater worker engagement.