Economic growth. Discuss and give opinion

It is true that economic development plays an indispensable role in the modern world. While some people argue that economic growth is the best way to deal with the issues related to poverty, I believe that economic growth which is not sustainable must be banned.

On the one hand, there are convincing reasons to explain the effectiveness of economic development in addressing the hunger-related problems. Firstly, there are more job opportunities for the residents from nations where have the prosperous economy. Therefore, their annual income is able to be improved considerably which declines the rate of poverty in the society. Moreover, the economic breakthrough can bring the undeniably huge amount of profit which is utilized to invest in many scientific activities in order to create more outstanding innovations. The scientists can take advantage of these advances to apply in agriculture to boost the productivity of crops which contributes significantly to end the hunger.

On the other hand, I would agree that the unsustainable development should be eliminated due to several detrimental impacts on the environment. Recently, the deforestation and desertification spread with a extremely fast speed because people build more factories or resorts in the mountainous areas to use the natural resources. This can destroy the balance of ecology and affect the quality of human’s life in the long term. In addition, some greedy owners of factories want to save money without establishing the water treatment system and release the poisonous wastes to the river or ocean. For instance, the steel companies in Danang city discharge the wastewater directly to the sea which kills thousands of fishes and damages the millennia ocean diversity.

In conclusion, although the ecocomic growth can bring many undeniable benefits to our life, we should stop it if it is not sustainable. It is because we cannot be selfish and need to create a long-term environment for our following generations and other creatures on the planet.