In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

Some people tend to dedicate more time and energy for studying and working. There are several mechanisms behind the phenomenon that certain individuals working more dilligently than their counterparts. However, it is sometimes not beneficial for people, who always spend more resources working.

Hard-working are of great importance when it comes to achieving wealth, fame and relieving pressure from like-minded people. First, money is common inducement among stundents or working individuals. This is especially the case for those who are originated from inprivileged background. By studying or working harder, the less well-off stand a higher chance to shake off poverty and live better off. If students study well at school, they may be able to gain college or university certificates that opens up many employment opportunities. Likewise, hard-working staff would be creditted by coleagues and climb high in career ladder. These are indicators of decent income in future. Additionally, being known by people is one of intrinsic factors that encourages learners, employees to work more. Apart from food, shelter, sex, and other demands, attaining popularity is an intergral part of human's instinct, which gives people a sense of fulfillment. Finally, it is common that people might devote extra effort for their performance simply because they do not want to be left behind by their peers. Given peer pressure become increasing popular due to widespread of social media, some people are afraid of being compared to others, thereby investing additional attempts in work or study.

Even though hard-working is highly valued in most case, there are still occasions, when presentation of this characteristic may backfire. To illustrate, while wage-earners try to spend more time at workplaces thus finish deadlines on time, they may be assigned more tasks. In this case, working hard in toxic working environment is not good decision.

In sum, financial resources, desire to be known and stress to follow others are elements that make persons learn and work harder and endevours may be wasted in special circumstances.