The education of young people is highly prioritized in many countries. However, educating adults who cannot write or read is even more important and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some arguments about whether the government should invest money in youth or illiterate adults to benefit the country. In my opinion, I agree with the former, and I will explain the reason in the following paragraphs.

First, the young people will be the future owners of the country. Therefore, to maintain and develop the economy as well as other spheres, the older generation should have responsibility for educating the younger ones from an early age so they can become wise and responsible citizens. For instance, globally, developed nations with prosperous economies also have strong and modern education systems, such as England, Australia, or the USA. Furthermore, because the younger generation's brains are more active, educating them will take less time than educating illiterate adults. This means that the government will save a lot of money, which can then be used in other areas where it is needed. Secondly, the adults who cannot read or write can choose jobs that are suitable for them, such as workers or farmers, which are important labour forces because they can still earn enough money to raise themselves and their families and contribute to the country.

Admittedly, if illiterate adults are educated, they may have more opportunities to get jobs and have higher salaries. This will limit the employment and crime rates, which also contribute to the prosperity of the country. However, educating the young can curb the rate of illiterate adults as well and have more advantages.

To summarize, while lowering the illiteracy rate is necessary, focusing on the education of young people will have greater long-term benefits for the nation.