The efficient functioning of society is based on rules and laws. Society would not function well if individuals were free to do whatever they want. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Laws and principles are the foundation of modern society. In my opinion, society could barely function well wihout the deterrant effect of laws, although some conservative laws may be the obstacle of innovation.

Human beings share the same desire and impulsion despite of their races, ages or nationalities. Some fundemental desires like curiosity would accelerate the pace of discoverying the world, while others such as violent and sexual impulsion may lure us towards darkness. Laws are the crystallizations of human wisdom through the arduous process of controlling and guiding desires. The absence of them would result in chaos in our society. For example, enterprenuers would probably force workers to work overtime so as to generate as much venue as possible if we don’t enact work-related laws. The main function of laws is to offer protection to ordinary people.

On the other hand, if the law is too old-fashioned, it may slow down the development speed of our society. For example, if government enacts strict laws in business area, people are prone to be more conservative and less willing to make risky decisions, which would surpress the innovation of business market.

In conclusion, although too conservative laws may have adverse impacts on the creativity and development of society, rules and laws are needed if we want a stable and safety society.