Employers should give their staff at least a 4-week holiday a year to make employees better at their jobs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether businesses' owners should grant their employees a minimum of 4 weeks holiday or not, is a topic of interest among people. I somewhat agree with this view as wage-earners can achieve better work life balance when they are given more holiday time, even though some individuals would overexploit the benefit.

The first reason why I advocate to the increase in the amount of holiday for workers is that it allows people time to recover from work. If people are not given sufficient holidays, they would stand a higher chance of being exhausted and stressed, which are psychological disturbances and associated with many health-related issues. Given the entitlement to minimum 4 weeks of holiday, working people would have adequate time to relax, which relieves them of the burden from their work and private life. This subsequently results in workers' productivity and efficiency enhancement.

Another explanation for my agreement to prolong holiday period for people is that people could have more quality time with family. This is because when people travel, they tend to bring their families with them, which opens up opportunites for these people to get involved in meaningful conversations and strengthen the bonds with each other. By doing so, staff can have a sense of family solidarity and happiness, which implies that they can feel more comfortable and relaxed when coming back to work.

This is not to say that workers can have too many days off and utilize them for their personal purpose. While some workers can make use of their holiday efficiently, others tend to overabuse the allowance of their organizations by taking the time for activities that may have negative impacts on their well-being. For instance, some individuals may use their days off for organising parties instead of recreational activities. These behaviors would not only contradict the good-will of their firms but deteriorate their health.

In sum, by extending the holiday to over 4 weeks, organisational leaders can improve the living standard of their workers and increase their job satisfaction, albeit there are individuals, who may exploit the policy for their own sake. I therefore somewhat side with the idea that workers deserve at least 4 weeks of holiday.