Environmental problems such as pollution and climate change affect all the people in the world. Although global decisions are made to reduce these problems, the solutions are not effective. Why are the solutions ineffective? How can these problems be solved?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no gainsaying the fact that many a country nowadays has taken up initiatives to solve the ever-increasing problems of the environment. Even though drastic measures are set in place, this menace is not being curbed. The reasons for this being: the lack of awareness in the individuals of the country and the huge budget required to keep the factors such as pollution and climate change in check. It is the need of the hour that effective solutions be implemented globally.

To initiate with the flaws that are hindering the success of the environment protection initiative. Primarily, the governments are taking necessary steps to control the pollution; however, it is not just the authorities that are responsible, individuals should also participate in the cause. Although, the governments are working towards the cause, they are not looping the locals who play a major role in this. For example, India started a solar energy scheme in 2018, but it was not very successful as not many people knew about it, should they have informed the inhabitants, it would be a success. Second to this is the fact that running pollution and climate control programs are not a budget friendly affair. This is because they require a lot of resources and manpower to go through till the end. Bangladesh for instance in 2012, loaned 2 millions dollars from the world bank for water reservoir constructions. Therefore, these problems need to be tackled precisely and each and every individual had better contribute to it.

Having said that the environmental issues are not solely to be solved by the governments and individuals should also participate. First and foremost, the more the government spends time on conscientizing the people, the more people will understand and support the cause. This is because it will help them in making an informed decision. Norway for instance in 2010, placed hoardings on the roads and ran t.v commercials informing the people about using electric cars to decrease pollution for which they would be incentivized, after which they saw a 22% decrease of gasoline cars on their roads. Moreover, this may not be a feasible option for many countries as most of their citizens belong to a lower socio-economic status, such countries can start a joint venture with local companies and help protect the environment. For example, Walmart has started a green initiative which gives discounts to people who do not use plastic bags.

To reiterate, the governments should join hands with the public to solve the issue of pollution as it can only be solved if every individual is ready to participate. Therefore, spreading awareness among the people and gaining help from the public sector for financial support can be beneficial.