The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices is harmful to individuals and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Some people think video games are an enjoyable form of entertainment while others are strongly against them due to games addiction and its consequences. In my opinion, video games are cam be harmful but they can bring benefits to people and the society as well.

On the one hand, it is significant that video games can bring about several negative impacts. Firstly, since video games are addicted, many young people these days spend too much time on their devices. Therefore, isolating themselves from their families and friends. This lack of face-to-face interactions not only hurts many real-life relationships but also increases the risk of mental health issues among the youth. Secondly, when people waste larger amounts of time on video games, they tend to be less physically active which can eventually lead to a society of people leading sedentary lifestyles. Lack of exercise over a long period time makes people vulnerable to metabolic diseases such as obesity and causing the deterioration of health.

On the other hand, the availability of entertainment on handheld devices is advantageous to many ways. Whereas educational games are helpful for students, especially those with special needs. They can learn about the outside world, sounds, music, languages, history, etc. Some mobile games can be used in classroom to engage students and improve their learning. Moreover, game designing and game developing have become popular professions since the last decade. For example, the father of Flappy Bird has mage thousands of dollars from it. Many talented young people are earning a large amount of money from competing, playing and making games.

In conclusion, playing games can be addictive and distractive to other real life activities. However, I believe there are ways to limit the time of playing games and reduce health risks so that video games can serve better educational and entertainment purposes.