Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that only authorities have the power to solve environmental problems that seriously threatens to today’s world. However, protecting the earth is the responsibility of both authorities and individuals.

It is true that only the government have some say in appealing the efforts and cooperation of politicians and large organizations to deal with some serious environmental issues such as global warming, prolonged droughts, violent storms and other extreme weather events. This is because solving such problems acquires sophisticated equipments, the use of modern technological devices and enormous experienced scientists to work together. For instance, it takes years for environmentalists to collect various samples and analyse huge amount of data to know the major cause of global warming and to help them find the most effective solutions to tackle this one. Only the government can have sufficient funds and resources to invest in this.

On the other hand, I think that the responsibility of individuals plays a crucial role in protecting environment. Owing that individuals can join hands with politicians to save environment by a variety of ways such as enjoying renewable product, limiting the consumption of plastic, using more energy-efficient household items or planting more trees. Unless both the government and individuals take responsibility for environmental protection, this issue will not be thoroughly addressed. The responsibility cannot blame on one angle, even the government or individuals, therefore this change which have to come from both angles will gain some obvious result. Take deforestation as an example, although the authorities enact law to prohibit it, farmers continue burning forests for their own purposes.

In conclusion, I believe that with efforts of all inhabitants in the world including individuals of social organizations and the authorities, environmental protection will have breakthrough in the future.