Even though people read the news using the internet nowadays, newspapers still are an important source of information for the general public/the majority of people. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The appearance of the Internet after the third Industrial Revolution changed the possible approach to the latest news. While I agree that reading the news on the Internet has its advances, I believe that it will never replace newspapers.

Admittedly, reading the news using the Internet is an appealing way to get information for its incomparable convenience and high efficiency. People have no longer been restricted by the location and time to read the news. For example, with a smartphone, people can keep up with the latest news even while walking. Meanwhile, news is available once it has been uploaded on the Internet; there is no need to wait until newspapers are being published any more.

Nevertheless, the traditional information media, newspapers, has already existed for over hundreds of years, which proves its unique values. It has been an irreplaceable habit for adults and older people to read newspapers every day. In the past, people had no choice but to buy newspapers to get the latest news, because it was the only media that transmitted messages and information. Therefore, reading newspapers has become an essential part of a daily routine, which cannot be easily replaced by new media. Meanwhile, newspapers are more convenient for older people who cannot figure out how to use sophisticated modern technologies like computers and smartphones. A quick flick on the latest newspapers is all it takes to get the newest information. At the same time, a series of operations, such as clicks, importing, searching, will become a considerable challenge for the aged.

In conclusion, although reading the news on the Internet has gained popularity in recent years, I believe that new media will never replace newspapers because it has become a habit for many and could fulfil the individual needs of older people.