In some countries, people waste a lot of food which is bought in shops and restaurants. What do you think are the reasons? What can be done to solve this problem?

Food waste has been a hot issue continuously coming to public attention. While many reasons result in food waste, I would say the lack of public awareness is the main reason. However, this could be radically resolved by education and laws.

The primary reason behind the issue is that people do not attach importance to food. One of the main factors that leads to this is the diminution of food price. With the development of technologies like genetic engineering, both quality and quantity of crops have been improved, which in turn decreases food price. Thus, people tend to ignore food’s importance and buy a large amount of food beyond their actual demand. Moreover, the absence of strict regulations about food waste also exacerbates the problem of food waste. For instance, the idea of spending a small sum of money for enjoying an unlimited amount of food in a cafeteria is so appealing that many people would want to make the most of the offer and order more food than what they can take in.

Fortunately, educational measures and laws can play an important role in solving the problem of food waste. Although educational measures may not be the fastest solution, it must be the most effective one. Cultivating the awareness of saving food from childhood could help the next generation draw attention to the potential dangers of food waste, which progressively generate a social atmosphere of reducing food waste. Meanwhile, laws and regulations are substantial measures to solve the problem of food waste. For example, Some restaurants have established some rules that ask customers to pay for the food they left, which successfully reduces the leftovers.

In conclusion, the abundant food production and the absence of regulation lead to the weak public awareness, which in turn causes food wastage. Notwithstanding, creating awareness by education and improving laws is a rational method to address the problem.