Extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Taking up such extreme sports as sky diving and skiing has long been one of the most controversial issues among sports lovers. Some people declare their individual rights to get involved in any kind of sports they are keen on. The others, however, protest these sports for their danger and ask for a ban on them. I am in favor of the former viewpoint for the excitement and the sense of achievement extreme sports bring about.

To begin with, it cannot be denied that extreme sports offer their players great excitement. The supporters of the given idea claim that extreme sports are too hazardous to take up. Playing them may lead to serious injury, even death, for the players. Nevertheless, the hurt is unavoidable in any kind of sport. Yet, thanks to the advancement in their facilities and the strict rules of safety, the danger in these extreme sports are brought down. Consequently, by participating in these activities, the players free themselves from the worry about safety and stand a good chance of having a go at adventurous feelings that they may never get in such so-called safe sports as cycling and swimming. Therefore, there is no necessity to force a ban on them.

In addition, the sense of achievement is another merit of joining extreme sports. Individuals have the right to make up their own decision, including their choice of sports fitting their characteristics. Many youngsters nowadays lead an active life with involvement in new challenges so that they can satisfy themselves when their goals are fulfilled. Extreme sports are ones for them to show off their burning desire to conquer new things. That is to say, banning extreme sports means depriving the youth of chances to unwind themselves with a sense of triumph.

To recapitulate, it is undoubted that extreme sports are dangerous to some extent. However, there should be no ban on them since they can both excite their players and give them the feeling of achievement.