Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that whether festivals have lost their meaning remains a source of controversy. Many people argue that lots of attendants nowadays associate ceremonies with the chances for entertainment. However, I am of the opinion that traditional and religious festivals still maintain their original meaning in the eyes of most visitors.

The opponents of this idea claim that when time goes by, people seem to leave behind the underlying meaning of celebrations that offer them a glimpse into the past generation’s traditions, religions, and cultures. During the days of the events, the festival participants are more and more involved in pasture activities that satisfy their demand for relaxation or absorbed in capturing the best moments they have, rather than learning about the festivals.

However, the aforementioned viewpoint is biased to most of the people from my point of view. To begin with, by experiencing these special days themselves, attendants can have deeper insights into what their ancestors did. Take the Hung Temple festival in Vietnam as an example. Enjoying imitative activities or folk games in this ritual ceremony, visiting people can also have the opportunities to figure out how ancient Vietnamese made ends meet and survived.

What’s more, in addition to their secondary purposes of amusement, festivals undoubtedly enforce their primary aims at raising traditional, cultural, and religious awareness, as well as signify the importance of national and regional identity. Each group of people carries along with them certain typical features, which are the most prominent shown in ceremonies. Consequently, festivals can give the local citizens a sense of pride in their uniqueness.

To conclude, it is evident that festivals to some extent are the time for leisure and group cohesion. Nevertheless, I believe that most of the people who attend celebrations have never lost their interest in reviving the traditions of their ancestors.