Family life in the modern world is not the same experience as in the past

Family life in the modern world is not the same experience as in the past, because families are smaller. In the past, there were advantages and disadvantages to being members of a larger family.

I believe there were four benefits. Firstly, If the family had a lot of members, we might share household chores, which helped reduce the burden on parents. Secondly, when there were many different generations living together, especially grandparents, we could hear many old stories such as Wartime, Wartime life,… and they also looked after young children when their parents were away. Thirdly, the family was the place to return to if we feel exhausted. Finally, because of many people, so it was impossible to avoid quarrels, but we would learn to defend ourselves after quarrels.

I think there were also many disadvantages in the big family as extended family. As far as I know, finances were the leading cause of quarrels. Because in the family, parents were the earners. If parents didn’t have a job, the family wouldn’t have money to take care of monthly financial payments, which leads to quarrels. Sometimes, you had no privacy because there were so many members. And…

In my opinion, the advantages of big families were greater than the disadvantages. However, we had so many conflicts and problems, but we always loved, helped, and supported each other. And you would happiness, never lonely in a larger family. Anyway, I preferred to live in a big family because I wanted to live with my grandparents.