Famous people sometimes give their opinions on public topics, is this a good thing? Explain to what extent you agree or disagree.

Oftentimes celebrities would speak their views on certain topics, whether it’s on a television show with a famous host or via social media. I believe that it is a positive trend, and here are my reasons.

One belief is that everyone is entitled to express what’s on their minds. After all, it is a society where free speeches are allowed, and shouldn’t be treated any different just because they’re out in the public 24/7. And as there are human beings, obviously they would have various emotions. It can also be a way of communicating with individuals, by combining their thoughts.

Another reason is that quite frequently, this can turn out beneficial as well. for example, the #MeToo movement, which was led by a well-acclaimed actress, jumping out saying that she was sexually harassed by a prominent director. Soon after, more claims were made. As more females had the courage to speak out the unfortunate experiences, not only in America, but also around the world, and in fact, wide-spreading from the acting industry to institutions in South Korea. Several victims showed gratitude towards the actresses, saying that this action gave them the strength to stand up for themselves, to fight for women's rights.

Some people may argue, saying that since they care more about reputations, megastars may say things that aren’t real, but would be beneficial for them.

However, because of the major influence they have, they are able to use that advantage to do something good.

To conclude, if celebrities could speak out more usual thus become a voice for others, they could possibly raise awareness on a certain issue.