Financial education should be a mandatory component of the school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that finance has become an indispensable factor in considering every plan. Some people argue that a school’s curriculum should include financial education as a compulsory subject. In my opinion, I totally agree with this because basic financial knowledge can bring the students a better life in the future.

To commence with, gaining basic knowledge about finance from an early age helps students avoid stress related to financial difficulties. It is because financial lessons include teaching students about the role of money in every aspect of life. As a result, this may introduce a positive habit of saving for future goals and unexpected situations such as having medical problems or coping with unussual expenses. Moreover, it helps reduce the risks of becoming a victim of fraud. A basic level of financial understanding may help prevent students from being taken in by tactics which sometimes results in themselves spending years paying off heavy debts.

In addition, being armed with financial knowledge and skills contributes to a healthier life for students in the future. To be specific, financial lessons help boost students’ independence and responsibility. If students have a budget that they actively manage, it forces them to look at their spending to know how much they have available to make better financial decisions. Furthermore, being well-versed in finance enables students to invest successfully in securities markets or real estate to make a profit.

To conclude, financial education is undeniably beneficial for students in terms of minimizing daily financial pressure and bringing a potential future for young adults. Therefore, I strongly believe that this subject should be added to the schools’ curriculum.