Financial education should be a mandatory component of the school program To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

It is not uncommon among people to completely feel clueless when they first encounter the problem of managing finance in their professional lives. The prompt suggests that financial education should be made a compulsory subject for all students in their basic education. I strongly agree with this suggestion for two key reasons.

To begin, finance like any other subject such as science or history has practical implications in one’s life. If a student is taught about the principles of finance and managing money in their basic education, they will not be completely unaware of their personal finances when they step into the adult life. Being educated in finance will make an individual independent in dealing with financial problems and making complex financial decision. They will not need the help of a finance professional for every small problem they encounter in money matters. Finance is found in the most basic aspects of one’s life such as- setting a monthly budget for one’s family, tax filing, taking on or repaying loans etc. Such fundamental finance tasks will not need hiring a finance expert if one is properly aware of the principles of finance. So, to get through the basic financial tasks of life in a current world, financial education should be mandatory along with other basic subjects.

Moreover, being educated in finance will help one understand the proper worth of money. Students will learn to manage their resources and money in a more effective way rather than wasting it. Nowadays, when a youth gets their first job, they spend their money in wasteful manner due to lack of proper financial education. Whereas, if they were taught about managing resources and finance at an earlier age, they would have had the proper knowledge of investing and managing resources. So, financial education will aid every individual in comprehending the proper value of managing and investing resources.

To conclude, just like science and history, finance is also a practical knowledge of the world and proper education in finance from an earlier age helps an individual understand the worth of investing and saving money. In addition, a basic financial education will make people independent in making any financial decision.