The first steam railway

As early as the 10th century, the newly invented first steam engine was a production by Thomas Newcomen in London. It contributed a considerable benefit to the outbreak of the first industrial revolution. The working regulation of the Newcomen machine is not complex. A power arises from the reciprocating motion of the piston transmitted to the pump through a balanced level. Therefore, the pump can suck water continuously. Besides, the steam engine was used in all sorts of applications including factories, mines, locomotives, and steamboats. It held a unique position for three-quarters of a century until John Smeaton, and James Watt gradually improved the steam engine. It was a background of the first team railway.

In 1804, the British architect Terry created the first steam engine-powered train operated by fuel or coal. It was not until 1814, with Stephenson's creation of the invention of Terry, that he applied this machine in practical marking the birth of the world's first practical steam railway.

The invention of the steam engine created a range of advanced machines used to transport goods without human or animal power. It made a historic step in industrial development in the world.