More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems cause this issue? What do you think are the possible solutions?

It is undoubtedly that many individuals settling in developing nations increasingly have a desire to buy cars for the first time. There are several causes and considerable solutions that I will elaborate more below.

Regarding the causes, the increasing car purchase in developing countries is provoked by inner circle incitement, they crave on compliment in public. Particularly Indonesia, the individuals perceive their well-being and prosperity in productive age, in which they prefer purchasing certain cars, Toyota Yaris and Pajero Sport, as a feeling of bragging their success. Furthermore, considering a bewildering variety of offences committed in public transports. Due to the high social disparity, the perpetrators deliberately target passengers (children and women) to pickpocketing. Reported by the U.S. public transit networks, some recorded cases of homicide, even assault and theft cases significantly increase in such transport system.

Turning to the solutions, the local authorities might provide mass transit more convenience to make citizen switch to mass transit.Specifically, high security system and additional mass transport (timetable and routes) increase passengers’ safety and comfort feelings. In addition, if the authority restricts the use of diesel fuel (four-wheel vehicles) and enacts heavier taxes on car ownership, individuals will think twice to buy cars. This policy fosters eco-friendly living and support net zero emission through the Sustainable Development Goals, in order that young future generations could experience what Earth has given to human.

In conclusion, the causes of higher interest in buying a car in developing countries today include a trend of flaunting wealth and insecure feelings in public transit. Meanwhile, the plausible solutions are considered the improvement of safe and comfort transport facilities and law enforcement of car use reduction.