Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that, learning abilities and activities of a student would be valued by real written or verbal examinations rather than year through assessment like assignments and project works. However, in my opinion, although, formal exams have predominant position in academic year, other continuing valuation would also inevitable and not to agree with the statement which is not give a satisfied outcome.

On the one hand, yearly or in between formal examinations were seem to be useful in terms of marking criteria and to aware about the efficiency of teaching and studying as well. In other words, which is essential for the children and teachers to be conscious and evaluate the strategy of teaching by the result of examinations in words or in progress reports. Owing to the fact that, by checking student performance by what he or she may written in the appropriate level of questions and how the pupil understand the exact situation would be assessed. Similarly, authentic exam valuations and report would be indispensable for the future studies or job placements. For instance, conducting entrance exams for the admission of medical or engineering seats in all over the world by the support of various universities.

Not to be out done, it is often essential to grade the pupil by the performance in different projects or certain assignments in relevant or related current issues or subjects. Devoid of such performance may have difficulty of students to cope with the managerial role or problem solving situations in later studies or in terms of job descriptions. Student who cover the allotted project or research works during school time may have sustainability in future works. Not only that, by the strict assessment by the teachers for the associated themes would have clarify the problems and pupil could correct the mistakes from the student period itself. For example, student assignment for the eradication of malaria programs in India got a remarkable prize in all India project submission survey.

To sum up, common exams would be essential and effective path to evaluate a student skill in study area. Nevertheless, in my perception, the statement for not satisfactory comment for the other consecutive assessment criteria was disagreeable. Because, such project and course works makes up the student overall development in studies and future in some extent.