Many people think that museums will be replaced by technology as most information can be found free online. Others believe that museums are still important.

Will museums no longer be needed in the future?

Is this a positive development?

It is often argued by some that, technology can provide most information online and thereby museums would be replaced. However, many others think museums are inevitable. This essay explains the importance of museums in the future and the negative impact of substitute technologies.

Museums are the counterpart of national history which showcase milestones of growth and development, vulnerable records of many. Such monuments play a major role in the national economy and tourism development. Museums have a leading role in education and research centres through exact information and displays of materials and proper explanations. For example, the world-famous teak museum in Kerala state enhances the wide variety of plants and plantation methods of teak in a proper way by workers in the museum. Owing to that absence of museums may mitigate the social, cultural, academic and national development of future generations when we rely on online technology.

On the other hand, innovative technology and online websites are given ample information regarding certain areas. It may deliver images and detailed data of things in past times. Along with this, such sites might give extra knowledge from different aspects, various persons, and diverse views. People who believe in online service thinks this sort of evidence would flourish the aspects of a museum than the original one. Even though free online information would not be reliable and the credibility of data would be suspicious in many cases.

To sum up, technology in online service about museums might be imperative in modern world those who are not able to visit museums. Though the role of museums would be necessary and this replacement would be detrimental effects in upcoming years in many ways.