Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society?

By the revolution of human’s civilization, there is a tendency for freedom of speech to be necessary in the modern society This essay will now examine both sides of the debate and reach a conclusion.

The first reason is that the opinions and ideas of nobles who contribute significantly to a country's prosperity can have a far-reaching impact on the public, as opposed to the past, when decisions to control a country or an empire were only discussed by the ruling class. To illustrate, through media communication, businessmen and scientists can publicize their latest innovations, experiences or aspirations, which may have a positive motivational effect on the crowd. Shark Tank, for example, is an American TV program in which various successful businesses are founded and a few of them are growing on a global scale in a variety of world’s economics sections.

Following that, the rapid development and battles of information technology allow people to express themselves more freely. There are popular applications, such as Facebook, Instagram, or the recent powerful emerging tiktok that encourage individuals to write, even every detail of their lives, in order to show the world who they are and what their identity is.

Freedom of expression, on the other hand, could be used for nefarious purposes. There are situations where people write critical, even offensive or insulting words attacking ordinary people or celebrities based on what they have seen so briefly that they are unaware that their freedom of speech may cause serious harm to others. These scenarios are increasingly common among today's youth, who spend the majority of their free time on the internet.

To summarize, freedom of speech is an important factor in our social evolution; however, it needs to be more strictly regulated by laws in order to maintain a bright world.