Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society?

As society colectively inches towards a just and prosperous future, many start to query about certain aspects of the current system. One burning discussion is about the necessity of freedom of speech. Personally, i am partial to its importance to our lives, though it must come with some caveats, all of which will be discussed in this essay.

On one hand, there is no debate freedom of speech has proven profoundly valuable. Though to highlight this notion further, it is essential to look back on the impact it has had on the world as a whole. More specifically, throughout history, there is a plethora of examples when freedom of speech is taken away as the result of colonisation. People were deprived of a mean to express themselves, as well as having no ways to voice their opinions and concerns without fear of repercussions. Most cases like these, as expected, always end up in a revolution or an uprising. It just goes to show how much of an innate need and a crutch to the longevity of a system that freedom of speech was and will forever be. Changes and development are driven from the discussion that, under freedom of speech, everyone can conduct. All is to say that freedom of speech is without doubt a piece of the puzzle to a greater future.

On the contrary, however, it should be made clear that the ability to speak one’s mind without regards to anything else is not always beneficial or even positive. Too much of a good thing can be bad, and this include speech as well. To corroborate, social media platforms, specifically those with weak or non-existent content regulation, are obvious showings of the idea. It is on these platforms that hate languages, false information and propagandas are spread like wildfire. As a result, a toxic environment is made, and the consequences carry over to the real world too. Because of these bad apples, a certain degree of regulations or restrictions on freedom of speech is not only warranted but also greatly appreciated.

Overall, despite some drawbacks, its gargantruant importance to society have made me and many others supporter of freedom of speech.