Freshwater has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What causes of the increased demand, and what measures can governments and individuals take to respond to th

It is undeniable that the demand for water is increasing in many countries and it is a fact that the primary cause of this is the limited source of water bodies such as freshwater ponds ,lakes and so on. Discussed in the following paragraphs are the causative factors of increased water demand along with the remedial measures. To begin with, the demand for freshwater has aroused when people became more health conscious. In other words, a major section of people is concerned about their wellbeing and also aware about the role of pure drinking water on health . A socio economic survey conducted by India Today in the year 2018 reported that 65 percent of people who consume water from impure sources are affected with diseases such as cholera, leptospirosis and dysentery . The government can curb this problem by issuing properly treated drinking water and also by availing the supply of purifiers in each house. Yet another reason for increasing demand of water is the replenishment of natural water resources due to rapid urbanization and industrialisation. The burgeoning factories and industries not only make these sources vanish but also , use and waste water from the remaining sources.This would make the life of people more difficult. To exemplify, a recent study shows that 80 percent of water from rivers ,lakes and ponds are utilized by construction companies and automobile service centres. Implementation of rigorous rules and regulations by the authority can solve this problem.The amount of water drawn from such sources should also be limited . To sum up, the need for freshwater is rising nowadays.It is mainly due to awareness of people impure water can cause and also due to wastage of water in occupational sectors.supply of pure water in homes and limiting the overuse of water in industries can curb this issue to a great extent.