Some people think that spending a lot on birthday celebrations and wedding is a waste of money.But others think that it is important to young people and the society.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary era, people spend huge amount of money on celebrations. A section of society believes that investing enormous amount of money on wedding ceremonies, birthday functions and other public celebrations is nothing but squandering of money. Whereas, others opine that these are beneficial for people and society. An attempt is made here to discuss both the views along with my opinion in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, nowadays, people are more interested in luxurious and lavish celebrations as these celebrations upgrade the status of people in the society. In other words, If a family invest huge amount of money on any function or party, it would naturally gain the attention of public. Moreover, the respect from the society also grow. People from affluent families give more importance to materialistic pleasures and spend enormous amount of money to make a function more conspicuous. To give a clear example, a north Indian family spend around 20 million rupees for the marriage ceremony of her daughter to make it noticeable. Therefore, the authorities should implement stringent measures to regulate and minimize such acts.

On the other hand, there are opinion from one section that the amount of money spend on such occasions benefits certain individuals. To illustrate, parents provide dowry to their daughter to ensure safety of their children in another house. A socioeconomic survey conducted by India Today in 2017 reported that 6 out of 10 women face torturing and harassment in their husband's home due to less dowry. Apart from that, there are certain celebrations which are beneficial to the society. To exemplify, Independence day which is officially celebrated in August 15 at New Delhi gives message to the public about freedom and the sufferings faced by historic legends. Even though, such celebrations consume large amount of money, it would help the future generation who get detached from the historical and cultural roots to realize the significance of such events.

To recapitulate, celebrations play an inevitable role in our life. Even though, people squander their money on grant celebrations, the benefits it bring to the society is irrefutable. After analysing both the arguments, I came to the conclusion that it would be better if the government put some restriction on the bulk and limitless amount of money spend on luxurious functions. Setting a particular budget by the government can minimize the occurrence of such events in the coming years.