Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, the number of individuals suffering from health deteriorations are applying alternative medicines and treatments by themselves is rising at a noticeable speed. Additionally, they no longer visit their doctors for prescriptions. From my perspective, this trend toward treating illnesses by their own could pose some life-threatening effects on patients, as well as detrimental influences on the economy of residents.

On the one hand, using alternative medicines without introduction from professionals might not offer benefits to the patients. In fact, many people do not have sufficient knowledge about biology and medicines. If they insist on buying medicines or treat the health problems on their own, some hazardous chemicals in the medicines would put people at risk. By way of illustration, doctors always suggest patients using a suitable amount of antibiotic when they are suffering from infectious diseases. However, the overuse of antibiotics might result in the much worse health problem because the depletion of body's cell. In other words, patients then have to visit the doctors for emergency circumstances by the incorrect usage of such kind of treatments.

On the other hand, purchasing for a tiny number of medicines could cost a fortune and harm considerably to the economic situations of some households. As a matter of fact, when patients utilize a wide range of treatments without any health enhancement, their family must go to the pharmacy in search for other types of medicines. Therefore, the continual use of exorbitant medicines might be the major cause of the decline of households' economy. Take the example of medicines from abroad, they are much more expensive than the national ones. If patients completely believe on the effectiveness of those medicines without taking into account the impacts from a scientific perspective, they would not afford to purchase imported medicines for long-term use. As a result, more medicines with no improvement is synonymous with the shortage of money sources.

In other words, I strongly hold the view that trying alternative medicines or treatments in lieu of visiting doctors for advices might have deleterious influences on the community, namely the risk of patients' lives and the lack of financial sources in the long run.