Major cities in the world are growing fast, as well as their problems. What are the problems that young people living in those cities are facing? Suggest some solutions

In recent times, a majority of large urban areas have grown at an alarming rate. Although there are some potential consequences that this trend might cause for the young generations living in metropolis around the globe, various solutions can be held to alleviate those issues.

On the one hand, several burdensome difficulties for the youth are likely to arise as a result of the fast-growing major cities, chief of which is the exposure to the noise pollution. As a matter of fact, the urban regions are developing dramatically is synonymous with the considerable rise in the construction of tall buildings, factories, apartments, and the unbelievably huge number of vehicles in the roads, especially in peak hours. In particular, noise with high levels of sound is emitted from the consistent manufacture in factories as well as the lively way of living of the city residents. Consequently, this trend leads to the serious noise pollution in the urban area, and it might have deleterious effects on the young individuals' well-being, such as the loss of concentration is the lessons at schools or the hearing deterioration by the prolonged contact with the noise. By way of illustration, some reports have revealed that traffic noise in Hanoi in peak hours could reach 150 decibels, which exceeds the level of noise that is considered safe to human.

On the other hand, some feasible measures could be done to mitigate the aforementioned problems. One of the most efficacious solutions is that the authorities should allocate more funds to the mass transit system in big cities. In fact, if people rely more on the public means of transport, they will utilize their private vehicles less, which results in the significant drop in the number of traffic on the roads, especially during rush hours, hence the eminent reduction in the level of noise in urban areas. For example, Danang, a great metropolis, used to be a noise pollution hotspot in Vietnam. Nevertheless, for the last four years, the government has been successful in making efforts to persuade Danang dwellers to leave their cars home and use city buses by simply making bus services free of charge. Therefore, only six months after the implementation of this policy, Danang experienced a dramatic decline of the level of traffic noise.

In conclusion, the young people would be vulnerable to the excessive level of noise pollution by the growth at a breakneck pace in urban regions. However, the authority can take some measures to mitigate that issue, including the allocation to improve the public transport system.