In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages ?

In the future, all vehicles will be autonomous so passengers will be the only person inside them. Despite some benefits of it, I believe that overall the drawbacks are more significant.

Admittedly, self-driving cars have several positive impacts. Firstly, it contributes to reducing operating expenses. Transportation businesses will no longer have to hire drivers who account for nearly 50% of spending. As a result, salary payments will cut. Secondly, enterprises can spend more money enhancing the service and vehicles quality if they dismiss all their employees. This is vital to the sustainable development of a company. Consequently, they will attract many customers and acquire a reputation and credibility.

However, the above benefits are trivial than the following problems. First, autonomous vehicles cause a rise in the unemployment rate. Thousands of drivers make their living by driving when this job is redundant. They are forced to quit their job and find another one in a completely new field. The second disadvantage of this trend is that an autonomous vehicle can not replace humans in unexpected situations. It seems that a self-driving car was installed in advance and then has to follow instructions on a predetermined road. Sometimes, an urgent problem can happen, but it can not solve the problem quickly, actively, and efficiently as human beings. This issue can endanger passengers’ health and even their lives.

In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of self-driving vehicles are likely to be outweighed by their drawbacks. This kind of vehicle can develop if it can assure factors relating to safety and employment for citizens.