Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that the major environmental problem these days is due to the extinction of particular plant and animal species. While reasons can be given to justify this, I believe that air pollution is the more important environmental issue.

On the one hand, the loss of some species can lead to several environmental problems. For example, forested watersheds improve water quality or water storage, however, their over-deforestation can cause fast floods and erosion. As a result, these disasters can pose a serious threat to human lives and surrounding animals. The loss of forested watersheds also shifts the ecosystem to a state of ecological imbalance.

On the other hand, I advocate that it is a need to consider air pollution as it is the main environmental issue of our times. There are a variety of causes of air pollution, the chief of which is industrial emissions. For instance, normally, manufactured factories need a significant amount of energy for mass production, thus they release a high number of emissions per day into the air without treatment. This activity will lead to the greenhouse effect in the long term. Secondly, the burning of fossil fuels has detrimental impacts on air quality. In the coldest country like Russia, every household has heaters that are used to burn wood or coal to keep their home warm in the winter. As a result, a high number of exhaust fumes are produced at the same time, which can be extremely dangerous and seriously harm people who are exposed, and worsen the air.

In conclusion, although the loss of particular plants and animals can be a very noticeable environmental problem, I believe that air pollution is the one that needs to tackle as soon as possible to improve the environment.