In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Many predict that soon all road transportation vehicles, such as cars, buses and trucks will be self-driving, and that there is no human driver needed inside these autonomous vehicles. Personally, I strongly agree with the assertion that the benefits of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.

First of all, artificial intelligent powered vehicles with cutting edge technology can greatly reduce accidents and mitigate driving-related fatality. Autonomous vehicles effectively prevent human risk factors such as distraction, fatigue. Moreover, it eliminates drink-and-drive, which is one of the highest causes of death. As a result, driverless vehicles utilize technology to not only save human time spent on driving, but also protect and address costly transportation accidents.

Secondly, while many, especially the older generations, are still skeptical about the efficiency and trustworthiness of driverless vehicles, it is without doubt that technology is improving daily and artificial intelligence, which is the backbone of self-driving cars, can now self-learn and self-improve over time. The accuracy and correctness of automated vehicles have been proven and tested in various countries worldwide.

In conclusion, I believe self-driving vehicles are the undisputable innovation for the transportation industry, and that the advantages of these autonomous vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.