In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars.

Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

There is an increasingly popular phenomenon observed in small town centres where people have the tendency to travel to large megamalls at the outskirts, and this results in economic hardship for local in-town businesses. In my opinion, the benefits of this social consumer behaviour shift undoubtedly outweigh its drawbacks.

The shift undeniably offers people several benefits in the way that it would encourage urban expansion and emigration to the suburban area. This thus alleviates urban density issues and allows more square space per capita for the city population, which is an essential part of human wellness.

Some may argue that the social behaviour change, while helps to de-congested the small town centre, negatively impacts its property price. In spite of this mentioned drawback, one would easily recognise that land value in the suburban area would simultaneously increase, and this is the reason I believe that the shift in purchase behaviour is a positive measure of urban development.

Another beneficial societal impact this shift brings about is that families can have great bonding during out-of-town trips. This gives both adults and children the chance to take short weekend getaways for recreation and shopping.

While some may assume traveling is tiring and time-consuming, the recreational benefits of these trips are undoubtedly inherent. Traveling helps relieve stress, bring novelty and excitement. Shopping in itself is also a form of therapy.

In conclusion, while driving to large megastores in the outskirt area may have some adverse impacts, I believe they are outweighed by the more significant positive benefits and economic values.