In the future all cars, buses, trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicle outweigh the disadvantages?

The technology industry develops rapidly so people believe that in the near future all the transportation will be operated by AI and the people inside will be passengers only. In my opinion, automatic vehicles will bring more benefits than they will harm.

Decreasing the rate of accidents caused by dozing off is the first advantage. Research shows that the percentage of unexpected car crashes due to the driver falling asleep without noticing is alarmingly high. Thanks to AI, long-distance drivers will have time to take a rest and let their vehicles run by themselves. Besides, the AI will receive traffic information and assist the driver to provide the best road transport by updating network data. With the assistance of AI, companies needing 2 or more drivers for each transportation can hire just one, greatly diminishing the cost of hiring employees.

On the other hand, there are some negative outcomes that AI vehicles may come with. Electronic devices can glitch because of outside factors such as rain, dust, and heat, costing time and money to repair and even lives. How sensitive AI is to the surrounding environment is also a significant aspect to be concerned about. If the infrastructure is poor in quality such as having many bumps and the AI sensors have a bad quality as well, it may occur unfortunate casualties.

In conclusion, although this topic has many debates, the advantages are more outstanding than the disadvantages. Virtual drivers can prevent accidents, help to plan suitable routes, and reduce the cost of hiring employees. They should outweigh the damage potentially caused by compromised or poor-quality AI devices.