Some people think scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues.

There are two schools of thought when it comes to research allocation, to focus more on solving world health problems or others. Although both have persuasive reasons, I strongly agree that world’s health is but scientists’ foremost priority.

Indeed, there are pressing issues that concern all global citizens, such as AIDS or chronic hepatitis B. These incurable disease are mitigating life quality of the unfortunates and might even be life-threatening. With sufficient funds poured in the medical field, cures can soon be found to save billions of sufferers. Improvement in global health also facilitates positive movements in economy development, in that it creates more healthy workers with better life quality, and hence, better work performance. Considering economy is one of society’s top priorities, the overhealth of human beings deserves lots of attention.

Still, the gravity of other issues, such as education and environmental, proves to be far heavier. Improper education has long been many countries’ most difficult problem, from which serious social evils, for instance, violence, domestic abuse, theft, or illegal drug dealing, to name a few, stem. More funds are also required to strike a balance between production and recycling, which is currently imbalanced, causin most of the world’s environmental issues. Above all, these problems may indirectly affect the mental or physical health of global citizens, posing as yet another burden.

In conclusion, although the field of healthcare still has much to be solved, human society has far more important issues that need equal attention, such as education and environmental problems. To assure optimization in global development, a reasonable divide in funds, hence, is pressingly adviced.