In the future all cars, buses, trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicle outweigh the disadvantages?

At such a fast pace technology is going, it should come to no surprise that in the near future, AI shall be allocated to replace workers of many fields, including drivers. Vehicles with only passengers as human beings will be the norm. Although this may come with several disadvantages, the advantages it upholds promisingly surpass.

Without drivers, passengers can expect fewer human errors, which eventually leads to less waiting time, fewer cases of accidents, and a significant reduction in traffic congestion. Such improvement can better human lives by facilitating punctuation, hence, improving work quality, and, most importantly, reducing on-the-road stress. Additionally, the innovation should also be viewed as life-saving, considering how drivers constantly face high risks of injury or death. As the technology is introduced, so are job opportunities with lower risks, putting them in a much safer position.

With its arrival, however, comes greater requirement for electricity and infrastructure, both costly and harmful to the environment. Workers who aspire to become drivers will then face a great deal of dissappointment and find it difficult to pursuit another profession to make their living. These problems are as real as they are serious, but can be brought to a fine resolution with appropriate measures, an example of which would be to allocate more funds into research. Great achievements are found throughout the history of human beings, therefore, it is likely possible that the human race shall once again rise above obstacles.

Indeed, the future where vehicles no longer require drivers will put humans in an odd position where they have to face certain difficulties in reducing pollution and worker allocation. However, considering that it is also where the lives of many are improved, and to some, safer, this innovation clearly steers towards the upside.