In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people in some countries. Is this positive or negative development?

There is a prediction that we will take on a large proportion of senior citizens in the near future. It has been a bone of contention for many. Others argue that older people are unwise, while others consider the advantages. From my perspective. I will show both sides of that opinion in this essay.

On the positive side, an increase in the number of old people is more significant. Firstly, they play a crucial role in participating in charity work to instill a great sense of responsibility and altruism in the younger generation. Furthermore, they have more experience than young people, so they can advise both economically and politically.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that they have a longer life expectancy than before. This means that youngsters must shoulder much more responsibility for caring for older people. As a result, excessive pressure may be put on youth, hindering their economy development. Moreover, the government needs to pay for increased retirement pensions and health care costs for them, so both society and the family bear a greater financial burden and are forced to work overtime in order to get a higher salary. For example, the development of a country whose proportion of senior citizens is higher than that of young people, such as Japan, is already facing a serious elderly problem.

In conclusion, society needs to pay more taxes to the elderly, since they may contribute to developing and humanizing the country.