In the future, it seems more difficult to live on the Earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching other planets to live, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that governments should pour public purse into the exploration of space because of the difficulty of sustaining life on the earth these days. Personally, I disagree with this opinion for a number of reasons.

There are several drawbacks of government spending on scouring the universe for an inhabitable planet. Firstly, searching the galaxy causes an utter waste of public money. Expenses such as space probes, equipment or researching and developing cost are expensive. Therefore, such expenditures put unnecessary pressure on public budget while various countries could allocate those money for dealing with several problems. Furthermore, there is little likelihood to find out a planet on which human can live. Human has spent decades researching a glimmer of hope for a sign of life on other planets but they received nothing. Even if there was an inhabitable planet existed in the cosmos, it might be far millions of years of light from us.

Instead of spending public budget on looking for life on the galaxy, the government should consider the following opinions to make the earth a better place. Apart from current environmental law, the state might enact punishments for illegal activities such as hunting or deforestation. This action brings about stronger protection on the environment. Besides, the state should harness eco-friendly energy to reduce the reliance on fossil fuel. The increase in green resources offers humanity a safe and healthy community environment. They could also launch campaigns to arm people with awareness about the earth’s current issues. Every effort would help to bring back the green earth we used to have.

In conclusion, I disagree that nations invest public money in turning the cosmos inside out because of the potential problems and the ability of better measures.