More and more people want to buy famous brands with clothes, car and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is a trend that people have a tendency to purchase products from well-known brands. While I subscribe to the opinion that this development is positive, I believe that it exerts adverse impacts on society. My essay also will shed light on causes of this phenomenon.

On the one hand, it stands to reason that there are manifold reasons why people show their inclination to items from famous brands. Firstly, famous brands usually have superior products that an array of former consumers have a high opinion of. Thanks to high-quality products, the good reputation of those brands is built and this gives people a sense of guarantee and pleasure. Secondly, well-known brands put a large sum of money into advertisements in order to make sure that customers could pay heed to their products. As a result, people have a chance to get access to those products and easily make a good shopping decision.

On the other hand, it cannot be denied that buying famous brands’ products also has several drawbacks. First, the bulk of famous brands items are luxury and expensive, so some individuals want to catch up with this trend so as to show themselves to other counterparts. As a consequence, they will squander their money on unnecessary things and encounter financial adversities. Furthermore, in many countries especially developing countries where the demand for famous brands’ products is high, bad sellers might take advantage of this in order to produce fake luxury brands items. Thus, it will pose a threat to the market and the development of the national economy.

In conclusion, there are several explanations for buying famous brands’ items. While I suppose that advantages of this trend are obvious, it is my contention that it also gives rise to negative consequences.