In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the advancement of technology, printed materials’ digitization is not an uncommon phenomenon. Some opinions state that paper books or handheld newspapers will not be an alternative in the future, paving the way for online reading because people will have access to them without any charge. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this statement considering the demand for publishers’ compensation packages and the limited accessibility.

One of the reasons opposing this anticipation is that not anyone has the capability for accessing any required documents given their confidentiality. Some documents are kept in privacy and in order to read them, readers would have to get permission from authority or alike. Not only can those materials be confidential, but they can also contain information that only experts or specific learners can comprehend. That is why they are concealing from the public. For example, some information about UFOs is under strict supervision, despite having been stored online, and thereby only authorities that have been permitted to access can read and investigate all the cases.

Another reason is that publishing offices require financial allocation to continue their workings. The demand for paying annual or monthly salaries for editorial employees is of utmost importance. If their publications are cost-free, the question arises that how their companies can support their workers and encourage them to remain working. The implication of this can be a decreased productivity of workers and an undesiring motivation to further publish new products, for example, online newspapers or e-books.

In conclusion, although a significant quantity of physical books and newspapers has been digitalized, I contend that not every single piece of information is open to the media without cost given the financial support to operate publishing companies as well as the privacy of some particular documents preventing others from accessing.