In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development?

With the prosperity of modern society, people today are experiencing the highest standards in every aspect of life, living up to their expectations. In fact, thanks to the thriving of cutting-edge technology, human life expectancy has been more prolonged than ever before, leading to making up a higher percentage of the old in numerous nations. I contend that this status may do more harm than good for society as a whole, and this essay will shed light on more details about this trend.

One major ground effect behind the rising of retired workers is that those people may place an incredibly tremendous burden on society. By that I mean, if more and more older citizens, this would ensure rapid depletion of both social security funds and strained financial sources available. Obviously, retired elderly people often have no access to any source of income, and their expenses would culminate into quite a formidable figure. By this as it may, the government has to account responsibility to take care of them and sponsor them for the rest of their lives in terms of their contributions to the community. Therefore, if older people account for a huge ratio of the population, the authority has to raise more funds for them instead of investing in other areas, such as education or economic development. In a long term, countries’ economy is fallen into stagnation and crisis.

Another detrimental effect is the growth in the number of elderly people is likely to damage the national workforce. Since they are not strong enough to assure the pressure tons of workload, they may not be able to accomplish tasks efficiently, thereby not making a considerable contribution to the economy. Consequently, the number of young employees is not enough so as to take charge of older positions. A shrinking workforce can impede economic growth which in turn can halt meaningful strides toward better standards of living.

To give an example, in the case of blue-collar jobs, staff who are much older cannot work productively as younger ones since they lack the strength to tackle problems and give logical decision-making. Hence, they are more likely to be laid off which may practically diminish the national workforce in this area.

In conclusion, the expansion number of older people in comparison to younger people is definitely having a negative impact on the development of the economy since it will place a massive burden on the state budget and reduce the productivity of the labor force.