Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people's lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a

threat to life on earth.

Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

In the contemporary era, medical science has brought many changes to mankind; especially, in genetic engineering which is set of technologies used to change the genetic makeup of cell. Nowadays, genetic engineering is a considerable problem in the community; people are of different opinions about genetic technology; certain believe that it will enhance lifestyle of human race, while other opine that it may be a menace to survival on earth. From my point of view, to certain extent, it appears to be reasonable and it will be discussed in ensuing paragraphs.

To begin, there are certain favorable argument of genetic engineering that could be put forth. The first and foremost one is, some drugs and vaccines are produced by it. To explain, nowadays, people are facing disease problems that are lethal on human beings in order that scientists may use genetic engineering to make remedy of that fatal diseases; as a result, humans could live longer and healthier lives. Not only that but also inherited illness would no longer exist due to alternation in DNA structure. Moreover, human could all have replacement of body parts. To cite an example, celebrities are doing plastic surgery to look more handsome. Thus, modification of an organism's genes can be benefited to the community.

On the contrary, certain facts have negative influence on society. There may be risks involved in the food which is produced by genetic engineering. Put it more simply, the genetic crop has fewer nutrition values compare to the original crop. What is more, food chains could be broken if crops are resistant to predators; consequently, genetically modified yield of crops might change whole ecosystems. Hence, society and human evolution would change completely.

To recapitulate, I reiterate my opinion by saying that genetic engineering would be beneficial to society to cure diseases provided that, it is used carefully.