As global trade increases, many goods, even some daily goods, are exported to another country, which includes long-distance transport during shipping. Do you think its benefits outweigh its drawbacks?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As global trade is becoming an irreversible trend, more and more people are concerned about its pros and cons. Some believe that it boosts economic development; while other point out that it is not an economical model because shipping costs and tariffs will result in nothing but higher price of a product that consumers would have to pay, and fuel consumed during long-distance transportation will contaminate the environment. My view is that global trade bring us more good than harm.

Clearly, global trade has created enormous job opportunities for many countries. In this world, some countries’ economies depend heavily on exports, and in the meantime, other countries have to import raw materials or products such as oil, steel and food from their neighbours. So global trade benefits almost every country and allows the world economy to be stable and prosperous.

Moreover, thanks to global trade, various imported goods have improved overall living standards. For example, we are driving cats manufactured in Germany, watching movies produced by Hollywood, eating salmon imported from Japan, and wearing clothes made in China. We cannot imagine what life would be like without such goods.

It is also true that global trade has caused some problems. Of course, it may intensify commercial competition and long-distance shipping has negative impacts on the environment. But, even if we could ban international trade, these problems would still exist, because people may choose to travel abroad to purchase such products.

In summary, global trade offers a win-win situation for both importing and exporting countries. Meanwhile, I believe with the development of science and technology, we can eventually figure out some ways to offset the drawbacks it has caused.